The Guide des Parcours represents La Vérendrye's comprehensive route collection spanning from beginner-friendly lake circuits to expert-level whitewater challenges with Class V rapids. This extensive system features over 800km of maintained routes traversing rivers, reservoirs, and 4,000 scenic lakes with varying difficulty from Class I to Class V rapids. The network includes 37 portages totaling significant distances and 17 designated campsites strategically placed throughout the reserve. Best suited for experienced paddlers seeking multi-day adventures, these routes offer unparalleled variety in Quebec's boreal wilderness with options ranging from 2-15 day expeditions accessing some of North America's most remote paddling experiences.
The document describes 51. The map shows 0, because it only places rapids a national survey publishes a coordinate for. The two counts measure different things.
| Rapid | Class | Portage | Surveyor's note |
|---|---|---|---|
| rapids on Circuit 11 | classe I R1 | yes | 3 rapides de classe I, 1 seuil |
| [Circuit 15 rapids] | classe I R1 | yes | 3 rapides de classe I |
| [Circuit 15 rapids] | classe II R2 | yes | 1 rapide de classe II |
| [Circuit 15 rapids] | classe II-III R2-3 | yes | 1 rapide de classe II-III |
| [Circuit 16 rapids] | classe I R1 | yes | 5 rapides de classe I |
| [Circuit 16 rapids] | classe I-II R1-2 | yes | 1 rapide de classe I-II |
| [Circuit 16 rapids] | classe II R2 | yes | 3 rapides de classe II |
| [Circuit 16 rapids] | classe II-S R2 | yes | 1 rapide de classe II-S |
| [Circuit 16 rapids] | classe III R3 | yes | 1 rapide de classe III |
| [Circuit 16 rapids] | classe III-IV R3-4 | yes | 1 rapide de classe III-IV (contre courant) |
| Section 1 rapids | RI-RII, 1 RIII-III, 1 RIII-IV, I RV-VI, 1 SIII-IV R1-6 | yes | 4 portages pour 570 mètres (2.3% de la longueur du circuit), 1 portage pour 300 mètres (1.2% de la longueur du circuit) |
| Section 2 rapids | 2 eaux-vives, 18 RI, 1 RI-II, 21 RII, 5 RII-III, 4 RIII, 2 RIV, 3RV, 1 RV-VI, 1 SIII, 1 SIII-IV, 1 SIV, 2 SV, 1 chute R1-6 | yes | 13 portages pour 3930 mètres (5.6% de la longueur du circuit), 4 portages pour 1100 mètres (1.6% de la longueur du circuit) |
| infranchissable | infranchissable | yes | Circuit 30 - 1 infranchissable |
| infranchissable | infranchissable | yes | Circuit 33 - 1 infranchissable |
| majères | majères | yes | Circuit 33 - 4 majères |
| infranchissable | yes | 1 infranchissable | |
| classe I R1 | 1 rapide de classe I | ||
| classe II R2 | 3 rapides de classe II | ||
| classe II-III R2-3 | 1 rapide de classe II-III | ||
| classe I R1 | yes | 1 rapide de classe I | |
| classe V R5 | yes | 1 rapide de classe V | |
| Classe I et II R1-2 | yes | Plusieurs rapides de classe I et II pour les amateurs d'eau vive | |
| [Section 1 rapids summary] | 2 classe I, 1 classe II, 2 classe III R1-3 | yes | Section 1 contains multiple rapids of varying difficulty |
| [Section 2 rapids summary] | 6 classe I, 1 classe I-II, 4 classe II, 7 classe II-III, 1 classe III, 3 classe IV, 1 classe V R1-5 | yes | Section 2 contains numerous rapids including challenging class IV and V rapids, plus 1 chute, 1 fort courant, 1 seuil |
| Rapids en remontée | Class I R1 | yes | Le circuit est à contre-courant sur 31 km, cependant, le courant est perceptible sur 10 km et peut être difficile à remonter par eau haute. 2 eaux vives (marche à gué), 1 rapide de classe I, 1 barrage de castor |
| Rapids en descente | Class I to Class V R1-5 | yes | 1 maigre, 3 rapides de classe I, 2 rapides de classe II-III, 1 rapide de classe IV, 1 rapide de classe V, 4 seuils, 2 chutes |
| [unnamed rapids in Section 3] | 6 rapides de classe I R1 | yes | |
| [unnamed rapids in Section 3] | 1 rapide de classe I-II R1-2 | yes | |
| [unnamed rapids in Section 3] | 3 rapides de classe II R2 | yes | |
| [unnamed rapids in Section 3] | 8 rapides de classe II-III R2-3 | yes | |
| [unnamed rapids in Section 3] | 1 rapide de classe III R3 | yes | |
| [unnamed rapids in Section 3] | 2 rapides de classe IV R4 | yes | |
| [unnamed rapids in Section 3] | 1 rapide de classe V R5 | yes | |
| [unnamed rapids in Section 1] | 1 rapide de classe I et un maigre R1 | yes | on doit remonter à gué |
| [unnamed rapids in Section 4] | 1 rapide de classe I R1 | yes | qu'on doit remonter à gué |
| Class I rapids | CI | yes | 6 rapides de classe I |
| Class II rapids | CII | yes | 3 rapides de classe II |
| Class I-II rapid | CI-II | yes | 1 rapide de classe I-II |
| Class IV rapid | CIV | yes | 1 rapide de classe IV |
| Chute Big | Chute | yes rive gauche | 1 chute |
| 3 rapides classe I R1 | |||
| 1 rapide classe II R2 | |||
| 1 rapide classe III R3 | |||
| 2 rapides classe IV R4 | |||
| 1 rapide classe V R5 | |||
| 1 rapide classe I R1 | Circuit 77 | ||
| [unnamed] | eau vive EV | 1 eau vive | |
| [unnamed] | classe I R1 | 1 rapide de classe I | |
| [unnamed] | classe II R2 | 3 rapides de classe II | |
| [unnamed] | seuils | 2 seuils | |
| [unnamed] | infranchissable | yes | 1 infranchissable |
This table publishes no position for any rapid. Where a surveyor's note mentions a kilometre, those are their words quoted as written, and the figure was read off a scanned map: use it to follow their description, not to navigate. Most of these surveys were written in French.
Surveyed by Réserve Faunique, 2003-08. ParcoursVerendrye2002.pdf
The document describes 37 portage(s).
| Portage | Length | Bank | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Circuit 10 portage | 410 m | 1,7% de la longueur du circuit | |
| Circuit 11 portages group 1 | the source recorded 680 m as a total across several portages, so it does not describe this one | 3 portages qui totalisent 680 m (2% de la longueur du circuit) | |
| Circuit 11 portages group 2 | the source recorded 315 m as a total across several portages, so it does not describe this one | 2 portages qui totalisent 315 m (0,9% de la longueur du circuit) | |
| Circuit 15 portages | the source recorded 740 m as a total across several portages, so it does not describe this one | 8 portages qui totalisent 740 m (1,6% de la longueur du circuit) | |
| Circuit 15 additional portages | the source recorded 245 m as a total across several portages, so it does not describe this one | 2 portages qui totalisent 245 m (0,5% de la longueur du circuit) | |
| Circuit 16 main portages | the source recorded 5245 m as a total across several portages, so it does not describe this one | 16 portages qui totalisent 5245 m (6,3% de la longueur du circuit) | |
| Circuit 16 additional portages | the source recorded 445 m as a total across several portages, so it does not describe this one | 4 portages qui totalisent 445 m (0,5% de la longueur du circuit) | |
| Section 1 portages | the source recorded 570 m as a total across several portages, so it does not describe this one | 4 portages, 2.3% de la longueur du circuit | |
| Section 1 additional portage | 300 m | 1.2% de la longueur du circuit | |
| Section 2 portages | the source recorded 3930 m as a total across several portages, so it does not describe this one | 13 portages, 5.6% de la longueur du circuit | |
| Section 2 additional portages | the source recorded 1100 m as a total across several portages, so it does not describe this one | 4 portages, 1.6% de la longueur du circuit | |
| Circuit 30 - 8 portages qui totalisent 1,5 km (3,3% de la longueur du circuit) | the source recorded 1500 m as a total across several portages, so it does not describe this one | 8 portages total | |
| Circuit 33 - 10 portages qui totalisent 3,43 km (4,5% de la longueur du circuit) | the source recorded 3430 m as a total across several portages, so it does not describe this one | 10 portages total | |
| Circuit 33 - 4 portages qui totalisent 190m (0,6% de la longueur du circuit) | the source recorded 190 m as a total across several portages, so it does not describe this one | 4 portages subset | |
| 5 portages totaling 635m (1.4% of circuit length) | the source recorded 635 m as a total across several portages, so it does not describe this one | Représentent 1,4% de la longueur de circuit | |
| 1 portage de 100m (0.2% of circuit length) | 100 m | Représente 0,2% de la longueur du circuit | |
| 7 portages totaling 1.6 km (2.4% of circuit length) | the source recorded 1600 m as a total across several portages, so it does not describe this one | Représentent 2,4% de la longueur du circuit | |
| 2 portages totaling 185 m (0.3% of circuit length) | the source recorded 185 m as a total across several portages, so it does not describe this one | Représentent 0,3% de la longueur du circuit | |
| 6 portages totalisent 2,6 km (Circuit 37) | the source recorded 2600 m as a total across several portages, so it does not describe this one | 3,7% de la longueur de circuit | |
| 1 portage (Circuit 37) | 250 m | 0,4% de la longueur du circuit | |
| 5 portages (Circuit 49 Section 2) | the source recorded 985 m as a total across several portages, so it does not describe this one | 1,5% de la longueur de la section | |
| Section 1 portages | the source recorded 190 m as a total across several portages, so it does not describe this one | 2 portages qui totalisent 190m (0.2% de la longueur totale du circuit) | |
| Section 2 portages - Relevée par eau haute | the source recorded 980 m as a total across several portages, so it does not describe this one | 6 portages qui totalisent 980 m (1.4% de la longueur du circuit). 9 portages qui totalisent 895 m (1.3% de la longueur du circuit) | |
| 18 portages qui totalisent 2.9 km (4% de la longueur du circuit) | the source recorded 2900 m as a total across several portages, so it does not describe this one | Certains portages de la rivière Canimiti peuvent être noyés par eau haute | |
| 3 portages qui totalisent 645 m (1% de la longueur du circuit) | the source recorded 645 m as a total across several portages, so it does not describe this one | ||
| Des portages sont existants pour 3 rapides rencontrés | not stated | Section 1 | |
| Des portages sont existants pour les rapides rencontrés sauf pour 1 eau-vive et 1 rapide de classe I | not stated | Section 4 | |
| Circuit 64 - 2 portages totaling 230m | the source recorded 230 m as a total across several portages, so it does not describe this one | 0.7% de la longueur du circuit | |
| Circuit 64 - 8 portages totaling 1.0 km | the source recorded 1000 m as a total across several portages, so it does not describe this one | 3% de la longueur du circuit | |
| Circuit 70 - 3 portages totaling 385 metres | the source recorded 385 m as a total across several portages, so it does not describe this one | 0.8% de la longueur du circuit | |
| Portage du côté gauche de la route avant le 2e pont | not stated | rive gauche | |
| Circuit 73 - 6 portages totaling 1.7 km (1.5% of circuit length) | the source recorded 1700 m as a total across several portages, so it does not describe this one | ||
| Circuit 73 - 2 portages totaling 210 m (0.18% of circuit length) | the source recorded 210 m as a total across several portages, so it does not describe this one | ||
| Circuit 77 - 13 portages totaling 4.5 km (5.4% of circuit length) | the source recorded 4500 m as a total across several portages, so it does not describe this one | ||
| Circuit 77 - 1 portage of 135 m (0.2% of circuit length) | 135 m | ||
| 3 portages totalling 1.1 km (2% of circuit length) | the source recorded 1100 m as a total across several portages, so it does not describe this one | ||
| 3 portages totalling 580 m (1% of circuit length) | the source recorded 580 m as a total across several portages, so it does not describe this one |
The document describes 17 campsite(s).
Vérendrye River is rated Advanced. Whitewater ratings are not exact: grades change with water level and season. Verify current conditions locally before you paddle.
The best time is May-September.
Vérendrye River is located in the Outaouais region of Canada.
cartespleinair.org (2002 route guide, in French) · paddlingmag.com · sepaq.com · brandononthego.ca · myccr.com
Conditions change with water level and season. Grades and positions are for planning, not navigation. Verify locally before you paddle. Terms of use
Something wrong on this page? Report it